Intro – Carly Mucha

Carly in her East Vancouver studio


Hey Carly, What do you love about living in Vancouver? 

The mountains, coffee shops, the ceramic community, beer, veggie food, Summer, whales. 

A favourite building on Hastings and Columbia

What are your favourite neighbourhood/buildings in the city?

Main Street. There’s just so many nice places to hang out and eat or drink, and lots of small businesses doing cool things. Hastings sunrise is a fav as well (it’s where my studio is located). Building wise, I love the Marine Building. There’s also a mission revival style building on Hastings that I love soo much, but it is totally falling apart and probably will be torn down soon.

What material do you work with?

Clay. ​

Why did you apply for the MakerLabs Tools For Women residency?

It seemed like just too good of an opportunity to pass up. I have my BFA from Emily Carr, but my educlaytion there was pretty medium specific and I didn’t really have the opportunity to learn any of these exciting things. The idea of merging new technologies like laser cutting with the old skool technologies of ceramics has me stoked.

Why did you decide to become a ceramicist?

When I was a teen I found it really therapeutic. Then in craft school I fell in love with all the challenges it presented. It was so satisfying to get to know the material and really experiment.

What is one tool do you really want but can’t afford?

A pug mill. They are very pricy, but mostly they are just too heavy to lug around places. No wait. Can I change my answer? A RAM PRESS.


Who’s work inspires you? 

Ahh, too many to list. Ayumi Horie, Molly Anne Bishop, Shoko Teruyama, Dirk Staschke, Jessica Brandl, Alex Zablocki, Takuro Kuwata, the people at Studio Arhoj.

What are some misconceptions about your hobby?

That we’re all down-to-earth patchouli kombucha hippies. Just kidding, it’s all true!

What keeps you up at night?

Glazes! 

You told me that you are currently teaching 5 pottery classes. What inspires you to teach your craft?

Well, it’s 50/50. It does pay my bills, but I have also been inspired by my own teachers and would like to give back to our community. Teaching also just comes very naturally to me.

Best piece of advice you’ve been given?

“Stay up late every night with other artists around your age. Show up. Go to openings, events, parties, wherever there are more than two of your kind. Artists must commune with their own kind all the time. There are no exceptions to this rule, even if you live “out in the woods.” Preferably commune in person, but online is more than fine. It doesn’t matter where you live: big city, small city, little town. You will fight and love together; you will develop new languages together and give each other comfort, conversation, and the strength to carry on. This is how you will change the world — and your art. To protect yourselves, form small gangs. Protect one another no matter what; this gang will allow all of you to go out into and take over parts of the world. Argue, sleep with, love, hate, get sick of your fellow gang members”. -Jerry Saltz

Thanks Carly!

No thank YOU!

1 thought on “Intro – Carly Mucha

Comments are closed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close