Laser Cut Daisy Earrings

I had so much fun playing with the laser cutter to make these cute daisy earrings! Starting out with a small laser cutter project like this was great as you can cut things from smalls scraps you can find for free!

Daisy 1.jpg

I liked the idea of incorporating fabric into my earrings so I could make tactile fuzzy centers for my daisies.

Daisy 7.jpg

The earrings were made up of several different parts glued together.

I cut flower shapes and backing pieces from 3mm white acrylic. The fuzzy fabric centers I cut from a scrap of upholstery fabric. The acrylic centers of the flowers I cut from scraps I found lying around, these were cut from thicker 6mm acrylic.
IMG_3218.jpg

I designed these in Adobe Illustrator then imported them into Inkscape. Cutting them out on the laser cutter went relatively smoothly,  but I had a really hard time gluing them together. The acrylic pieces would slide all over the place and the glue would leave messy marks.

I ended up developing a process where I first glued the fabric circles to the centers and let them dry.

Diasy 3.jpg

Then, I pushed them into the daisy shapes. This was very fiddly and difficult. I ended up designing and making a small jig to help me do this.
Diasy 4.jpg

After this, I glued the white backs on. I put an old book and heavy weight on top it all, to clamp the pieces down while they dried.

I also had some trouble getting the right hole size in the flower, to fit the jack rings through. I found I got the neatest finish if I cut a really small hole with laser cutter first, then I opened up the hole using a drill and a 1.6mm drill bit.

The result is these cute things!

Diasy 5.jpg

This was a fun project and I’m looking for to exploring other kinds of jewelry I can make on the laser cutter!

Daisy 6.jpg

 

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close