Mid Residency Update – Ariel and her big dreams… Nov/Dec Cohort

And so it is that I sometimes start with one idea and then am surprised by what actually emerges.

Dusk mask from Lathe 102

I have been struggling with certain elements of the residency, namely staying focused on learning the elements that are more difficult and don’t come as naturally to me, which in this case are the graphic design skills needed to utilize tools such as the laser cutter and the CNC machine, as well as keeping up my sense of timing, direction and an organized pace.

My assigned mentor from the cohort before me mentioned that if there was any advice they could offer, it was to dive into Inkscape right away in order to avoid learning it after taking the classes that require it.

My grandmother always said the road to hell is paved with good intentions. As much as I intended to crack into it ahead of time, I did not, and have found it difficult to get started even watching tutorials. This has really held me back from being able to actually use the machines and get the time in actually producing work.

I have finally been cracking into it more recently and after a couple of sessions with staff mentors from Makerlabs, and finally practicing with a tutorial, I finally feel like I am starting to get the basics, though there is still a lot of learning to do.

So in the meantime what have I been up to?

Wood turning my little heart out!! #lathelove

I would not have imagined the way I would fall so in love with this craft. It is both physical, meditative, requires imagination and trusting my body and eye in the process of creating. I took the first course as my elective because I thought it might be handy for making the large furniture pieces I am looking to create, but instead I have been sweetly lost in the land of honey dippers and a beautiful traditional Mexican tool called a molinillo, used for whisking drinking chocolate.

The First Molinillo attempt! Yes those are captive rings!

I just completed the second class in turning bowls which will open up a lot of creative possibilities and I cannot wait to get back on the lathe…

My First Bowl from Lathe 102

In the meantime, I am doing my best to keep my original project idea in mind, because it is important to me, and I just had a wonderful session talking through the idea with Greta, one of our mentors. Greta helped me flesh out and clarify my ideas and problem solve some of the challenges of my project.

I’m so excited to begin planning my final presentation and to share the processes that I’ve been exploring during his residency. It’s been a joy to come back and be a part of the community again, and I’m really inspired to have developed a deeper and stronger relationship with the community at Makerlabs, to learn different aspects of what’s available to work with here, and to continue utilizing it as a space to collaborate and create moving forward.

In the meantime, you’ll find me in the woodshop, covered in dust, happily discovering what shapes are hidden in the wood I am working with and drinking Richard’s amazing chilli hot chocolate. It keeps me going!

💖 Ariel A

The Beehive honey dipper and the Bee Yourself laser test,
a gift for my adult nephew.
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close