Lamp fabrication and woven lamp shades by Corrina Hammond

@corrinahammondtextiles / Domestic Intervention Co.

Here are a couple successful samples completed at @makerlabsvancouver @toolsforwomenprogram!

I was so pleased to meet my lovely cohort, super helpful admin staff and learn of the classes offered, starting with LaserLab 101. Perfect. Thats what I needed to cut the forms…..

Then the realization hit, I had to use…. computers. Sob and sigh here.

Woven lamp shades

Pictured above: 2 hanging pendants 22 cm diameter and 16 cm diameter in acrylic, silk and rayon with LED bulbs + my own handwoven upholstery fabric on an antique chair.

(Upholstery fabric in wool boucle with silver threads, designed and handwoven by @corrinahammondtextiles)

I have spent most of my adult life avoiding any work done at a computer or a desk. I run my business through my phone and work part time at our office …yes, on a computer, but it’s part time. If I were to achieve my MakerLab goals, I needed an upgrade. From hand cut and glue lifestyle to copy and paste. MakerLabs has support for any maker, challenged in a any area. As I was waiting for my Inkscape tutorial with MakerLabs InkScape messiah, Raphael Messier I worked in my usual style: draw, cut scraps, glue scraps, tape. I also fell in love, with Acrylic. The heart wants what the heart wants.

Making models with fibre trials

Below are the stages of construction post design and laser cutting. Once I’d completed my 3hr (+) InkScape tutorial, a lot of hours working through the official InkScape tutorials and MANY trial and error cuts, I was able to correctly size the interlocking pieces without breaking the acrylic, which had turned out to be a brittle and unforgiving material to play with….the heart wants what the heart wants.

The weaving process

Let there be light! I am currently using the standard Ikea ready made cords and am looking forward to experimenting with other materials (brass/copper!) and creating fixed distance pendants. My next sample trials will be in wood…..unless….the acrylic calls.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close