Intro-Corrina Hammond Domestic Intervention Co.

TAG:TOOLSFORWOMEN

Hello readers! My name is Corrina and I am a weaver. I am so pleased I am included in this #toolsforwomen block, as I’ve been day dreaming about expanding my skill set. I have a head bursting with ideas, including new and improved ways to hang woven work, objects to weave onto, lamps, and woven footwear. The MakerLabs ToolsForWomen is a perfect playground to experiment with these ideas.

Here are some photos from my last project. I was Nov/Dec 2018 April/May 2019 Artist in Residence at Kitsilano Secondary School. Along with 130 students, we hand wove tapestries and created this permanent textile installation for the main foyer.

Our theme being INCLUSION, I warped the loom with the Spirit of Kitsilano colours, blue and yellow. Each student choose their own colour and style to weave with. At this intersection, with the school colours in the warp and the students choice weave of the weft, our theme, INCLUSION, is expressed.

Creations by my alter ego, the staunch utilitarian and cloth fanatic: Domestic Intervention Co.

Work available at the Polygon Gallery Shop in North Vancouver.

50/50 silk wool handwoven scarves.
60/40 cotton linen handwoven scarves.
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close