Tools for Change – Katie

Katie, what do you like about Vancouver?
Natural beauty, being able to walk a lot, time in community gardens, small neighbourhood cafes and more. I still catch myself gasping (whatever, I’m weird) kind of often when I’m walking around. I think it’s one of the prettiest cities in North America.

What’s your favourite neighbourhood?
Strathcona. Strathcona. Strathcona! I’m kind of obsessed with my neighbourhood, after living in several different places in Vancouver. I love the feeling of running into someone I know almost every time I walk out of my house, it’s like a tight-knit small town with a few community gathering places (Maclean Park, Union Market, Wilder Snail, etc). I run a few neighbourhood Instagram accounts, including @strathconaresidents, so I get to share my love of my neighbourhood with more people.

What kind of creative things do you like to do?
I’ve been a writer/journalist/speechwriter for a few decades now, so a lot of my creative work has been on the writing/photography side. I started in daily newspapers and well, we all know how that story goes. I was lucky enough to work and live abroad as a war/health reporter in a number of countries, including Uganda, South Sudan, Colombia, Congo, China, etc. However, ever since I was about 8, I’ve been mucking about with woodworking for fun (it was the 80s k, glad I survived). I’ve perpetually fixed up every place I’ve lived, to some degree. Creating fills my boots. A few random projects of mine I’ve tackled:

Why did you apply for the Tools for Change Residency?
I’ve wanted to apply for this residency for years (and years) but was raising twins, working/volunteering a lot and found myself exhausted and lacking in time, a story that is common for many. What I came to realize is that you have to make time to do creative work (at least I do) and when you do, your creative bank fills up and makes you want to create more. I think of it like a little bank account that you add/subtract to. I am super eager to learn a bunch of different tools and refresh some other skills that haven’t been used in a long time. I’m looking to build some miniature fairy doors (more on that below), and some items for my vintage trailer, a 1970 Boler, which I’m in the midst of fixing up. Okay, midst is a generous statement, I’m basically starting from scratch. She’s number #265 (as in one of the first ones built) and needs some love (and a new table, shelves, etc). I’m also keen to create a set of raised pet bowls for my beagle, Honey.

What’s a weird fact about you?
I’m obsessed with miniatures and have a little fairy garden in my front yard that is frequented by a lot of children in the neighbourhood. I want to expand, build more things, and bring a bit more whimsy to day-to-day life. I love watching kids and adults stop and play. People will randomly leave toys on my porch to add and it just brings me joy. Stay tuned, there’s more to come on this as I create a new set of doors and buildings for the garden.

What are your initial thoughts about MakerLabs?
Well, I walked into the woodshop, took a deep smell and thought “Oh yeah, baby” so I think we’re off to a good start. The tools are amazing, everything is organized, the people are super kind and welcoming and I can’t wait to see what I create over the next few months. Also, the scrap wood pile fills me with joy, what can I say.


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close